fbpx

2018 EWS Qualifier Calendar announced

THE ENDURO WORLD SERIES (EWS) IS COMING TO A RACE NEAR YOU AS THE LIST OF OFFICIAL QUALIFIER EVENTS GROWS TO 50 RACES SPREAD ACROSS 25 COUNTRIES AND FOUR CONTINENTS.

The expanded lists of races sees the EWS moving into new territories including Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Poland, Switzerland, Colombia and Slovakia. There will also be a race in Lesotho, marking the first time the EWS will hold an event in Africa. We’ll see three events take place on theses shores.

Taking place across four continents in 2018, the 50 events will allow the fastest riders a way to secure entry to their chosen EWS races. Enduro Mountain Bike Association (EMBA) members can gain points based on their results at these local races, with their best three results of the year totalled to generate their global qualifying ranking for the following year. More details about how the global ranking will be calculated will be released next week – along with some more big news…

The Qualifier events were introduced in 2016, with 40 events taking place in 18 countries, and so far roughly 300 athletes have gained direct entry to this season’s races as a result of the system.

“The Qualifier events have been a real success when they were introduced in 2016 and it’s great to see them expanding this season. Demand for EWS entries grows year on year and the Qualifier events are a great way for riders, especially amateurs, to have a clear and fair pathway into the World Series. We’ve been overwhelmed by the number of applications we’ve had to host Qualifiers this year, and it’s great to see so many countries involved – with 43 nationalities already entered in this season’s EWS races it’s amazing to see how truly global the sport has become. It’s great to offer so many riders the chance to participate in the series and we look forward to seeing who rises through the Qualifier ranks to qualify for the main EWS races in 2019.”
Chris Ball, Managing Director of the Enduro World Series

2018 QUALIFIER EVENTS

Australasia
Europe
North America
South America
Event Dates Location Country Official Event Name Event Website Results
11 March Vigo ESP VigoBikeContest www.vigobikecontest.es R1
23 March Roma Lesotho LES Kingdom Enduro  www.kingdomenduro.com R2
22 April Sanremo ITA Sanremo Superenduro www.superenduromtb.com R3
28 April Big Cedar OK USA O-Rock Epic Enduro www.southernendurotour.com  R4
5 May Lake District England GBR Graythwaite Epic Enduro www.pmbaenduro.co.uk  R5
13 May Chilliwack BC CAN Fraser Valley Canadian National Enduro Series www.canadianenduro.com/fraservalley  R6
19 May Red Star AR USA Upper Buffalo Enduro www.arkansasenduroseries.com  R7
20 May Mount Leinster Carlow IRE Vitus Bikes Gravity Enduro Ireland www.gravityenduro.ie  R8
20 May Kouty nad Desnou CZE Specialized Enduro Race Kouty www.enduroserie.cz  R9
26 May Raon L’Etape FRA Enduro Series French Cup www.enduroseries.fr  R10
26 May Kalnica SVK Birell Bikefest 2018 www.bikefest.sk  R11
27 May Nesbyen NOR 80/20 Nesby Enduro www.8020es.no  R12
2 June Bielsko-Biala POL Enduro Trails www.endurotrails.pl/en/  R13
2 June Squamish BC CAN The Gryphon Squamish Enduro www.squamishenduro.com  R14
16 June Hauterive SUI ChauXmont Super D www.chauxmontsuperd.ch  R15
17 June Oak Ridge TN USA Windrock Enduro www.windrockbikepark.com R16
17 June Panorama BC CAN Canadian National Enduro Series www.canadianenduro.com R17
23 June Graz AUT Enduro Gradec www.enduro-gradec.at  R18
30 June Kellogg ID USA North American Enduro Cup www.naenduro.com  R19
30 June Lakeshore CA USA China Peak Enduro www.californiaenduroseries.com/  R20
30 June Vernon NJ USA CLIF Enduro East at Mountain Creek www.enduroeast.com  R21
8 July Blue Mountain ON CAN Canadian National Enduro Series www.canadianenduro.com  R22
8 July Los Vilos CHI Campeonato Nacional Montenbaik Enduro Series www.montenbaikenduro.com  R23
13 July Mammoth Mountain USA Kamikaze Bike Games www.kamikazebikegames.com  R24
14 July Toowoomba AUS 2018 MTBA Gravity Enduro Cup Rd1 www.mtba.asn.au/2018-gecup-toowoomba/  R25
14 July Zinal SUI Rock the Bessor www.rockthebesso.ch  R26
21 July Snowshoe WV USA 2018 USA Cycling Enduro Nationals Championships www.usacycling.org  R27
26 July Sirkka FIN Levi Midnight Enduro www.mtb-enduro.fi/levi-2018/  R28
29 July Charlemont MA USA CLIF Enduro East at Thunder Mountain www.enduroeast.com  R29
18 August Val D’Isere FRA Enduro Series French Cup www.enduroseries.fr  R30
18 August Steamboat Spring CO USA Revolution Enduro Steamboat Spring www.revolutionenduro.com/   R31
24 August Nauders AUT 3 Länder Enduro Race www.3laenderenduro.com   R32
25 August Deer Valley Resort UT USA Scott Enduro Cup www.endurocupmtb.com   R33
1 September Uribici Santa Catarian BRA Brasil Enduro Series www.brasilenduroseries.com.br  R34
2 September Piero ITA Superenduro Piero www.superenduromtb.com  R35
15-16 September Dyfi Wales GBR UK Gravity Enduro Series www.ukgravityenduro.com R36
16 September Zelena Ruda Spicak CZE Giant Enduro Race Spicak www.enduroserie.cz   R37
6 October Cundinamarca COL Campeonato Nacional de Enduro www.chiguiroextremo.com  R38
13-14 October Resita ROM METAL Enduro www.metal-enduro.ro/  R39
14 October SE Queensland AUS Shimano Enduro Qld www.emsaustralia.net.au  R40
14 October Groznjan CRO Enduro Grozni www.bbk-groznjan.com  R41
20 October Blagoevgrad BUL Blago Enduro www.race-series.com R42
21 October Bariloche ARG Enduro Argentina Series www.enduroargentina.com.ar  R43
21 October Treuchtlingen GER Endurorennen Treuchtlingen www.rcg-weissenburg.de  R44
27 October Perth Scotland GBR  Fair City Enduro www.muckmedden.co.uk/our-events/fair-city-enduro  R45
28 October Adelaide AUS 2018 MTBA Gravity Enduro National Championships www.mtba.asn.au/2018-gechamps/  R46
3 November Corral CHI Campeonato Nacional Montenbaik Enduro Series www.montenbaikenduro.com  R47
10 November Nelson NZL Mammoth Enduro https://nelsonmtb.club/race/mammoth  R48
2 December Ninhue CHI Compeonato Nacional Montenbaik Enduro Series www.montenbaikenduro.com  R49
2 December Dunedin NZL Emerson’s 3 Peaks Enduro www.bikeotago.co.nz/blogs/emersons-3-peaks-enduro  R50

QUALIFYING CRITERIA
Riders must be EMBA members in order to be eligible to collect EWS Qualifier Series ranking points / be added to the EWS Reserved List.  Riders MUST have the membership before the race – points will not be assigned retroactively.  The 2018 memberships will be available at the end of February .

Top ranked EMBA members competing in the 2018 Series will be added to the EWS Reserved List (to be published December 2018) and will be eligible for priority registration for all the 2019 EWS Rounds.  Total number of riders qualifying in each category (based on their final year end ranking) will be confirmed on January 16 (once the 2018 EWS Rules are published).

The top 3 racers in each official EWS category at every Qualifier Series will also be automatically added to the Reserved List (providing the racer is an EMBA member).

RANKING CALCULATIONS
The EWS only has 6 official categories. As the various EWS Qualifier Series events do not all use these 6 official categories, EWS Qualifier Series ranking points are assigned as follows. Riders are sorted into one of the following categories based on their year of birth.  Riders with an EMBA membership are  assigned ranking points for their finish position within that group.

Men
Men U21 (1998-2001)
Men Master 40+ (1978+)
Women
Women U21 (1998-2001)
Women Master 35+ (1983+)

There is no minimum number of races which must be completed in order to be included in the overall rankings.  But only a rider’s best 3 results will be counted in the final overall ranking.